Our goal is to understand, model, and recapitulate in vitro the instructive signals utilized by human embryos to pattern tissue-specific differentiation of pluripotent stem cells, and apply this knowledge towards the rational design of tissue engineered scaffolds and other regenerative therapeutic strategies. Currently, we primarily focus on generating tissues and therapies for the central nervous system.

Recent Publications

Saraswathy M, Knight GT, Pilla S, Ashton RS, Gong S 
Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces (in press)

Fabricating Complex Culture Substrates Using Robotic Microcontact Printing (R-μCP) and Sequential Nucleophilic Substitution
Gavin T. Knight, Tyler Klann, Jason D. McNulty, Randolph Scott Ashton (2014)
JOVE (92), e52186

Micropattern width dependent sarcomere development in human ESC-derived cardiomyocytes
Salick M, Napiwocki BN, Sha J, Knight GT, Chindhy SA, Kamp TJ, Ashton RS, Crone WC (2014)
Biomaterials, 35(3): 4454-64

Defined Human Pluripotent Stem Cell Culture Enables Highly Efficient Neuroepithelium Derivation Without Small Molecule Inhibitors
Ethan Scott Lippmann, Maria Carolina Estevez‐Silva, Randolph Scott Ashton (2014)
Stem Cells 32 (4), 1032-1042

More Publications

  • Science Photo
  • Science Photo
  • Science Photo
  • Photo of Cardiomyocyte Bucky
  • Photo of Neural Rosette
  • Photo of Micropatterned Molecules
  • Photo showing E6 Method
  • Photo demonstrating a Reaction
  • Link to YouTube Video


January 2015
Gavin Knight and Randolph Ashton collaborate with the Gong Lab to co-author an article on "Multifunctional drug nano carriers formed by cRGD-conjugated βCD-PAMAM-PEG for targeted cancer therapy" in Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces 

Randolph Ashton selected as a faculty member of UW–Madison's Material Science Program and Neuroscience Training Program

The Ashton Group welcomes graduate students Brett Napiwocki and Julio Cesar Diaz to the SCBRM lab!

December 2014
Randolph Ashton delivers a talk on "Regional Specification of Hindbrain and Spinal Cord Neural Stem Cells derived from Human Pluripotent Stem Cells" at the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society's 2014 Annual Conference and Exposition (TERMIS-Americas). 

November 2014
Dr. Ethan Lippmann delivers a talk on "Precision HOX Patterning in a Human Pluripotent Stem Cell Model of Posterior Neural Development" at the American Institute of Chemical Engineers' 2014 Annual Meeting.